50Webs Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 05, 2020, 12:23:35 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
88106 Posts in 20880 Topics by 26023 Members
Latest Member: brainc13
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  50Webs Forum
|-+  50Webs Services
| |-+  Support questions (Free plan).
| | |-+  Help using GoDaddy Domains with 50webs!
« previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Help using GoDaddy Domains with 50webs!  (Read 5089 times)
experimento626
Noobie
*
Posts: 1


View Profile
« on: July 14, 2008, 05:14:39 PM »

Hi! Sorry, I don't know much about programming languages. But i've created the page: webdunamis.50webs.com, and I'm the owner of www.webduamis.com

Now, I have no idea how to set the DNS addresses on GoDaddy. In the DNS Control Panel I have the option of using A (host), CNAMES (aliases), MX (mail exchange) and other options. I have no idea what are those, and where the 50Webs DNS (DNS1: dns1.50Webs.com, DNS2: dns2.50Webs.com) is suposed to be.

Please help!

Thanks!

Franco
Logged
freshwire
Global Moderators
Experienced Member
*****
Posts: 6072



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2008, 05:34:47 PM »

You should be looking to set the "Nameservers" for your domain. Locate the domain in the "Domain Manager" and then click the "Nameservers" button at the top  Cool
Logged

Jonathan | 50Webs Support Volunteer
kamranrocksit
Popular Member
***
Posts: 372



View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2008, 08:11:47 PM »

Hi Franco
First of all, Welcome to 50webs Forum

As you asked,
Go to Godaddy, Log in, Click on Domains on top and then under Management & Renewals, click on My Domains.

Select www.webduamis.com, and as Jonathan said, look for Nameservers, click on "Nameservers" , then select Custom nameservers and enter

DNS1.50WEBS.COM in Nameserver 1's field and
DNS2.50WEBS.COM in Nameserver 2's field and click ok.

And wait sometime and you will be able to add the domain. Smiley
Logged

XYLEM
Administrator
Experienced Member
*****
Posts: 7440


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2008, 12:29:13 AM »

webduamis.com doesn't look like registered domain name.

Regards
Gazurkoff
Logged

garthugs
Members
**
Posts: 34



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2008, 12:49:32 AM »

Good day,
I have similar problem so i'll post here.

I've successfully added my domain after waiting 24hrs after the dns request.
Although the domain is added i cant access the site: movieswamp.com
Logged
XYLEM
Administrator
Experienced Member
*****
Posts: 7440


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2008, 01:10:01 AM »

Quote from: "garthugs"
Good day,
I have similar problem so i'll post here.

I've successfully added my domain after waiting 24hrs after the dns request.
Although the domain is added i cant access the site: movieswamp.com


http://movieswamp.com/ and http://www.movieswamp.com/ was successfully hosted and works fine.

Wait for local DNS update up to 24h.

Regards
Gazurkoff
Logged

ONY
Noobie
*
Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: August 23, 2008, 02:49:00 PM »

I'm also trying to change my name servers at godaddy to dns1.50webs.com... etc. However, I keep getting errors because they apparently need an IP address for each DNS.

The domain is oxfordyouth.ca.
Let me know what you think,
~Jon
Logged
XYLEM
Administrator
Experienced Member
*****
Posts: 7440


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: August 23, 2008, 03:30:39 PM »

dns1.50webs.com (64.72.112.10)
dns2.50webs.com (66.40.56.10)

Regards
Gazurkoff
Logged

Gideon
50Webs moderators
Experienced Member
*****
Posts: 6596



View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: August 23, 2008, 03:52:18 PM »

How to obtain an IP from a server

I thought I would write a little tutorial for those who require the IP of a Nameserver - for example dns1.50webs.com and dns2.50webs.com

There are many ways to do this but the easiest and most universal way is the process of "pinging". "Pinging" a server tests the response time of the server. However, we can use it to identify the IP of the server.

In Windows,

Go to Start, Run, Type "CMD" (without speech marks) and hit Enter.

Type "ping SERVER NAME" and hit Enter. Instead of SERVER NAME you would put the actual server you would like to ping.

For example: ping dns1.50webs.com



For Linux,

You would need to find Terminal and use the same ping command generally. However, if your OS for some reason doesn't have the ping feature installed (very unlikely), you should be able to find one online.

For Mac,

Not got a clue, never used a Mac before and I don't even know if they have any Command Line Interface - probably not.
Logged




Hellooooooooo
freshwire
Global Moderators
Experienced Member
*****
Posts: 6072



View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: August 23, 2008, 04:14:59 PM »

On linux (if you have the correct libs installed) you can do the following command.

Code:
host dns1.50webs.com


Which has this output

Code:
dns1.50webs.com has address 64.72.112.10


However please be aware that based on my experience with GoDaddy you shouldn't need to provide the IPs. Ensure you are entering the information in the correct place.
Logged

Jonathan | 50Webs Support Volunteer
ONY
Noobie
*
Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: August 23, 2008, 06:47:58 PM »

That makes sense. Thanks.

@monkey: I have used GoDaddy in the past and not needed an IP for the DNS. It seems to me either a brand new requirement or only applicable to .ca domains (the CIRA, which governs .ca domains, is pretty strict about who and how they are used).

Again, thanks,
~Jon[/i]
Logged
sydnie
Noobie
*
Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: September 13, 2008, 01:21:27 PM »

Similar issue as well,

My domain name, iamsydnie.com is hosted with godaddy.com too.
I've added the DNS's and have waited the required time, and also added my domain to 50webs.

But I still just a 404 error page, and have deleted/re-added it, and have tried to re-upload the "index.html" and it says it's uploaded, and all the pages along with it.

(I have tried the deletion my cache/cookie files)
I don't know what else to do?

Thanks-
Sydnie
Logged
XYLEM
Administrator
Experienced Member
*****
Posts: 7440


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: September 13, 2008, 04:17:27 PM »

Quote from: "sydnie"
Similar issue as well,

My domain name, iamsydnie.com is hosted with godaddy.com too.
I've added the DNS's and have waited the required time, and also added my domain to 50webs.

But I still just a 404 error page, and have deleted/re-added it, and have tried to re-upload the "index.html" and it says it's uploaded, and all the pages along with it.

(I have tried the deletion my cache/cookie files)
I don't know what else to do?

Thanks-
Sydnie


Your second registered username was removed : sydnie
Please read and follow the ToS.

The case with your domain name looks like problem by our side after we changing the htpd software.
Will be fixed ASAP.

Regards
Gazurkoff
Logged

freshwire
Global Moderators
Experienced Member
*****
Posts: 6072



View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: September 13, 2008, 04:23:09 PM »

In this case your DNS seems fine. But the web server doesn't respond to requests for your domain.

Try removing/re-adding the domain to the account.
Logged

Jonathan | 50Webs Support Volunteer
XYLEM
Administrator
Experienced Member
*****
Posts: 7440


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: September 13, 2008, 04:35:58 PM »

Quote from: "XYLEM"
Quote from: "sydnie"
Similar issue as well,

My domain name, iamsydnie.com is hosted with godaddy.com too.
I've added the DNS's and have waited the required time, and also added my domain to 50webs.

But I still just a 404 error page, and have deleted/re-added it, and have tried to re-upload the "index.html" and it says it's uploaded, and all the pages along with it.

(I have tried the deletion my cache/cookie files)
I don't know what else to do?

Thanks-
Sydnie


Your second registered username was removed : sydnie
Please read and follow the ToS.

The case with your domain name looks like problem by our side after we changing the htpd software.
Will be fixed ASAP.

Regards
Gazurkoff


Fixed.

Regard
Gazurkoff
Logged

Pages: [1] 2 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.14 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!